Practicing Grace

20 Jan

It was one of those mornings when I would have preferred to linger in bed to catch up on dear sleep, order pizza and stay in my pajamas while watching the inauguration- but then I remembered something. My ministry. Yes, an important one. I am a minister of God’s word, a minister of His love- to little ones. No, not only those kindergartners every other Sunday at church, but my very own. Every single day.

So here I am, Lord. Up and about. I’ve done a few loads of laundry already, read to the kids, given the younger ones their bath, prepared wholesome lunch while watching history unfold in this country today, cleaned the kitchen, and now, making chocolate chip cookies so the kids could have surprise snack for afternoon tea when they wake up from nap. It’s all good. I’ll do it over and over again. Any day. For this is what I am called to do, for this season at least. What a privilege to serve little souls and demonstrate God’s goodness through humble service… Forgetting of self. To tell of God’s grace and His care for us- His unfailing and unconditional love. To impact eternity.

May I be reminded of these every single day so I could face each task with willingness of heart and with vigor that could only come from my eternal source, the God of love. For I know it would have been a totally different day for this sleep deprived momma had the Holy Spirit not intervened- early in the morning.

Only by His grace. That I might submit to it.

7 Responses to “Practicing Grace”

  1. Michelle January 20, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

    Thank you for this reminder. It is true it is for a season that passes oh so quickly. May God bless the work of your hands.

  2. Nida January 20, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    Thank you for ministering to me today. God used you in a mighty way.
    Blessings to you and your family.

    Nida

  3. yielded January 21, 2009 at 12:59 am #

    Thank you, Michelle and Nida.

    I am glad and humbled.

  4. L.L. Barkat January 21, 2009 at 11:26 am #

    These words resonated for me…

    I’ll do it over and over again. Any day. For this is what I am called to do, for this season at least.

    Ah, to live fully in each season.

  5. tonia January 21, 2009 at 9:12 pm #

    amen and amen, flo.

    love you, dear heart. you always inspire.

  6. laurel Sauls January 21, 2009 at 9:27 pm #

    This is the first time I have visited your blog, and I see that we have much in common. I enjoyed this post very much, you are right on. Thank you for your kind words on my blog today. They were very encouraging. I hope you will feel free to comment anytime, I welcome your thoughts. I see from your sidebar that we have many of the same interests and read many of the same blogs…looking forward to reading more from you!

  7. amanda January 29, 2009 at 12:08 am #

    Thank you for sharing these thoughts. Thank you.
    amanda

Leave a Reply

