divine connection

5 Nov

grannycookies

When we leave the house, on any given day, we always pray in the vehicle. One thing that the children and I always ask for is divine connection- that God would send people in our path that we could minister to, or just be a blessing to. Because of that, little occurrences that look like coincidence or simple meeting become meaningful. Even a casual conversation is an opportunity to be a light, to reflect Love. Every smile counts. But it never seizes to amaze me how oftentimes, it is us who really feel blessed in those divine connections that God send our way.

Today, I decided to take the kids to the art and craft store to bless them with new art supplies. There was just one person at a particular isle- an elderly lady, and though she looked very preoccupied, I came up to her and started a conversation. Actually, I just wanted to ask her a knitting question. We ended up chatting for a while. She talked about her childhood in Ireland, living in war-torn London, and how she makes all kinds of wonderful things for her grandkids and great grandkids. She spoke kind words about my kids (who were so well-behaved while we chatted) and talked about her own, too. She said she just loves children- she was a governess way back then. This sweet lady, she’s forty years my senior, yet we were able to talk about things in common. In the end, she gave me her phone number with a corresponding invitation for us to come over so she could help me get started with good ol’ knitting. She said she would also be making something for the kids.

I was really blessed by our conversation, and I made sure to tell her before she left that God sent her in our path today. She smiled. As she walked away, my five-year-old pulled me and whispered that when she becomes a mommy, she’s going to love all the children of the world too.

2 Responses to “divine connection”

  1. amanda November 5, 2008 at 11:00 pm #

    This is beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Anna January 7, 2009 at 11:19 pm #

    Lovely story. Makes me want to start my mornings in a similar frame of mind.

Leave a Reply

