of blogging and keeping home

22 Jul

I have a confession to make:

I miss blogging. I miss this blog.

I continue to read blogs that inspire me. the ones that keep pointing me to a gracious Savior. the ones that simply make me smile. Lately though, I have been itching to update my own… just could not squeeze it in my day. I know if I want it enough I could make it happen, but I guess it really is a priority issue.

I decided, instead of moping about it, I would just bake a favorite vegan chocolate cake, which I had been craving all morning, and call it the family meal. Then I would head on over here and ramble.

It had been a quiet day. Dear hubby left for work early in the morning as usual, and he won’t be home until late in the evening. (And that explains why it’s okay to feed the kids chocolate cake instead of a real meal. lol) The girls are busy playing downstairs and would only come up when hungry.

I took advantage of the sun and did three loads of laundry to line dry. One was for cloth diapers, which I have been doing every other day. Who would have thought that folding clean diapers could be so therapeutic?

We’ve assigned the eleven-year old to help with the kitchen floor, but as you probably know, it means cleaning the floor all over again.

We’ve been keeping Johann indoor, and I have been giving him daily baths, because he has developed heat rash. (That also means we have the air-conditioning going all the time.)

With the new addition in the family, we have yet to form a solid revised routine for the rest of us- though I know the sooner, the better. Like today, the two younger girls didn’t take a nap. I got so busy, and they weren’t bothering me as much- so of course, I forgot about nap time until it was too late. Now I’m listening to a screaming three-year old, the sort of thing that doesn’t happen here, unless the girl is extremely tired. Someone is going to bed early tonight.

Those of you busy stay-at-home moms of little children who are able to maintain an orderly clean home, serve healthy home-cooked meals everyday at the table, homeschool, and still manage to blog regularly: share your secret.

In the meantime, I am moving at my own (slow) pace, showing up here when I can, endlessly thanking my Source for every single day. No matter how monotonous, uneventful, quiet, or chaotic my days are, I am grateful that they are always beautiful.

Zurielle holding Johann Israel at 3 days old

3 Responses to “of blogging and keeping home”

  1. tonia July 26, 2008 at 10:40 am #

    it sounds like you are choosing the better way for this time…

    when you look back you won’t remember the missed routines or lack of blogging, you’ll remember that sweet baby face and how you drank in all the precious moments.

    just come here when you can and we will all still be here. πŸ™‚

    God bless you all during this sweet, sweet time.

    beautiful baby!

  2. Tami July 30, 2008 at 9:23 pm #

    Look at that sweet baby boy! So cute!
    Thank you for stopping by my blog and commenting. Have a blessed day. In God’s Love, Tami

  3. Alicia August 13, 2008 at 1:12 pm #

    What a beautiful picture! Don’t worry about trying to do it all. Nobody can. We just have to pick our priorities and know we did our best. πŸ™‚ Your home, family and homeschool sound so lovely it sounds like you’re doing really well! Congratulations on your beautiful baby boy, too!

Leave a Reply

