eco-list for earth day

22 Apr

We didn’t do anything special for Earth Day, but we got to enjoy the sunshine and beautiful weather outside all day! Aliyah said it’s just fine since everyday is Earth Day here anyway!

I thought before the day is done, I would make a list of things we’ve been doing differently lately, not just to be GREEN, but to execute our part as good stewards. Aside from the classic bring-your-own canvas grocery bags to the store, using cloth napkins, recycling, reusing, etc., here are some other changes we’ve committed to:

No more paper towels: It just makes more economical and ecological sense. Handmade dishcloths and rags are more fun to use anyway.

Buying from the bulk section as much as possible (even salt, spices, vinegar, soy sauce, vanilla extract, etc.): Less garbage, less impact on the landfill, saves money, and since you’re bagging, scooping or bottling your own purchase, you get to be part of the whole process, instead of just picking something off the shelf!

Using reusable cloth produce bags, or eco-bags instead of plastic bags at the store for produce, grains, beans, etc.: We are taking bring-your-own-bags to another level. And it just feels good doing it.

Trying (and trying some more) to stay away from packaged food products: Why, even the locally made pita and hummus are packaged in plastic bags and containers… definitely not easy.

Using glass, wood or stainless steel storage and serving containers: We still have too many plastic around- but not buying anymore, even giving some of my Tupperware containers away.

Staying away from disposable plates, cups, etc. (especially the foam kind!) This is a little more challenging for picnics and such, but it can be done.

Investing in Klean Kanteen bottles for every member of the family, and taking them wherever we go: I crocheted bottle carriers for each of the children so carrying them around is not a big deal. The kids seem to drink more water, and this eliminate the likelihood of getting bottled beverages when they get thirsty on the go.

Also: I finally got rid of all plastic containers for food/beverages for the kids- yes, even the cute ones.

Eating more raw vegan food: Less cooking means less gas/electric and water consumption; not to mention really good for you.

Using clothesline (even indoor) and drying racks: The most fun of all:) 

Hibernating or turning the computer off when not in use: Did I mention that our electric bill for the month is around $30!

Taking quick showers (navy showers vs. hollywood showers): We are also trying to use less hair products. Did you know that lemon/orange juice or apple cider vinegar is good for washing your hair?

Homemade toothpaste:How-to’s are all over the web.

Homemade eco-friendly laundry and cleaning solutions

Paper to no-packaging bar soaps: Eco-friendly compared to liquid soaps in plastic bottles.

Buying the kids no more plastic toys: We recently decluttered in the kids area, and realized that they still have way too many plastic toys. A lot of that went in the donation bags, but we’ve committed to not spending any more money on those unnecessary junks.

No TV: Although we are doing it not for conservation reasons, it does help in that sense. Also, we are all aware how advertising affect consumerism, and the kids anyway.

Cloth wipes instead of toilet papers: It really is not that bad, especially if you have a mini-shower/diaper sprayer installed. Potty luxury, I tell you:)

Even little steps count! I could hopefully blog in detail some of these soon- but for now, I need to get off the computer and crochet some more. My daughter just reminded me that I have a handbag to finish!

8 Responses to “eco-list for earth day”

  1. catherine (FOOD SNOB) April 22, 2008 at 8:30 pm #

    Flo, I just received your comment on my blog — you won’t believe this, but I was just reading your blog earlier this evening! I saw the comment you left Vicki and didn’t even know you were back blogging (and had moved your blog!) I’m so glad we’ve rediscovered each other!

    Cloth wipes instead of toilet paper? Wow — that’s brave. I’m going to stick with my Seventh Generation for the time being. 🙂

    Happy Earth Day to you and your family!

  2. vicki April 23, 2008 at 12:34 am #

    Happy Earth Day, KAI! Great to see you and this beautiful new blog. What an inspiring list here – can’t wait to see what your drastic changes are!

  3. willowluna April 23, 2008 at 7:42 pm #

    Cloth wipes–my husband and I started talking about this last week because of the Eco-Challenge from Crunchy Chicken. We gave up paper towel about a year ago, I think, and have used cloth napkins since we were married. We’ll see if this one happens or not!

    We Kleen Kanteens and love them. My son has a little stainless steel (not KK) that goes in his lunch bag for school everyday. Both of my kiddos love their bottles and were thrilled when we got them. Of course they still think drinking out of Mama’s bottle is the best. 🙂

  4. amanda April 25, 2008 at 6:26 pm #

    The Sigg bottles look really interesting. Does the beverage touch the aluminum at all? From the website, I think there is a liner, but was curious. And does the liquid maintain its temperature, or does it get hot quickly in the sun?
    amanda

  5. yielded April 26, 2008 at 6:29 pm #

    Amanda, the bottles have patented lining so that the beverage does not touch the aluminum at all.

    I have left my bottle out in the sun with me or in the vehicle a few times already. I noticed that water retains its temp. (Good insulation, I think.) But then again, we haven’t really put them in the heat-of-the-summer test.

    Whole Foods and also Patagonia carry these bottles so you could check them out if you have those stores in your area:)

  6. Patty April 29, 2008 at 10:25 am #

    such a good list….I have been trying to use fewer and fewer paper towels. At present I use one roll every two months, so it shouldn’t be a big deal for me to just not use them at all.
    We use glass mason jars for drinking water in the car or hiking. In summer we fill them with lots of ice, but that is not a good solution for children.

  7. Tracy April 29, 2008 at 5:28 pm #

    Wow, this is a great list! I’m a new reader and wanted to pop in and say hi. Looking forward to exploring the archives and learning more. 🙂

  8. yielded May 1, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    Patty-
    We also reuse jars to store anything, and I actually prefer it for my smoothies!

    Tracy-
    Welcome, and thank you!

Leave a Reply

