dishwashing twist

17 Apr

When you finally decide to stop using and buying paper towels, you would naturally just acquire more dishcloths and recycle old cotton shirts for clean-ups, right? Indeed I did, but then also discovered how wonderful crocheted dishcloths are, and so decided to just make them myself. My daughter and I are hooked! They are so soft, and fun to use, and neither one of us is willing to go back to the old dependable dishcloths for wiping countertops and the kitchen table. So what’s a domestic artist to do? Just make more of them.

I then tried one out for washing the dishes, and my- am I a convert. They are so luxurious, and they clean very well. Good riddance sponges!

The crocheted dishcloths were still too big for my tiny hands for washing dishes, so I set to make smaller ones from leftover yarns.

What do you think? Give it a try, your dishes (and I) will thank you.

4 Responses to “dishwashing twist”

  1. Tami April 18, 2008 at 9:40 am #

    My grandma lovingly makes washcloths for each of us girls. I have learned how to make them myself, too. I so *love* them. I am so glad you have discovered them! Have a blessed day! In God’s Love, Tami

  2. johanna3 April 18, 2008 at 11:59 am #

    what kind of yarn you use for them ? do you use a internet pattern? they are so cute!

  3. yielded April 18, 2008 at 3:07 pm #

    Johanna, I use 100% cotton yarn.

    You can get really fancy with the pattern, but I just stick with the basic and use single stitches throughout.

    Let me know if you decide to make them, too!

  4. rhonda jean May 1, 2008 at 1:41 pm #

    I use knitted dishcloths in the kitchen and loofahs, which I grow, in the shower. When they’ve been in use long enough and need to be replaced, I put them in the worm farm and the worms eat them.

Leave a Reply

