Buy Nothing Challenge

3 Apr


Buy Nothing Challenge - April 2008

Today is Day 3 of the Buy Nothing Challenge initiated by the Crunchy Chicken. Though I was all over this challenge the moment I first read about it, it took me this long to officially commit because I imagined I could talk my daughter into changing her birthday plans. Hehe. Plus, I had to enlist the whole family into the challenge. (You’re right. I could hardly do anything on my own!)

We are all in. Dear husband even said he’ll give up the boiled peanuts. (But then again, I don’t know if that’s a joke…)

What this really mean is no new tangible purchases for the whole month of April, except for the edibles (of course, who would want the family to starve in favor of a challenge!) and other essentials. Did I mention good for the pocketbook? Check out Crunchy Chicken’s blog for the rest of the details.

Anyone else wanna join?

4 Responses to “Buy Nothing Challenge”

  1. tonia April 4, 2008 at 12:42 am #

    our family did something similar to this about a year and a half ago….you can read about it here: http://www.studyinbrown.com/journal/2006/8/20/30-days-of-nothing.html

    it was a really profound experience for us that has had long-reaching consequences.

    i know you will be glad you did it. 🙂

  2. yielded April 6, 2008 at 7:53 pm #

    Tonia,
    Thank you for sharing that post here. I am still working through the comments:)

    Growing up in a third world country, and having lived with the poor, both my husband and I share the same view of consumerism and materialism, which could be different from a lot of people born and raised here. The challenge is really a little bit different for us, and should have been renamed “focusing” instead: not to overcome consumerism, but to pinpoint our “blind spots”- which I will be confessing here sometime.

    Again, thank you. I gleaned so much not just from your post, but from how graceful and loving you replied to some of the comments/criticisms.

  3. Randi April 7, 2008 at 8:41 am #

    I took Tonia’s challenge last year and it was so eye opening to me how often I rely on buying something in order to fix a problem. I found that when I wasn’t buying stuff, I was much more imaginitive when it came to “needing” something. Often I already had something that would fill the “need”!

  4. tonia April 10, 2008 at 12:18 pm #

    I look forward to your insights, Flo. Several people who were born outside the US wrote to me during that time and expressed that they didn’t appreciate or understand my approach. I learned so much from them and am so glad they wrote to me. My own ignorance and arrogance was/is staggering. I don’t think my perspectives (which have grown and matured since that 30 days) are unusual for middle-class Americans though, so I hope others from different backgrounds were able to learn more about their neighbors and their views as well. As I told someone who emailed the other day – we have to start at our own beginnings and move upward from that place.

    I can’t wait to learn from your experiences with this. Thanks, Flo.

Leave a Reply

