more for less what?

1 Apr

A month or so ago, while voicing my own feelings about this commercial giant, I acknowledged that it must have been a very long time now since I last stepped foot at a wal-mart. My husband’s kind reply? “It’s because you would send me.”

That hit me.

It is true. A couple of times that I sent him, since he would always ask where to go, I’d told him- either Target or Walmart. “Wherever. Just get me the stuff!”

What was I thinking?

“It’s okay for you to go. As long as it’s not me- it wouldn’t bother me.” (?) Or was it just because we have talked about this walmart stuff a long time ago, and I just wanted him to decide for himself?

Whatever my real silly reasoning was, no more sending mr-nice-husband to walmart. Oh, and why make a big deal out of it, you say? I was really glad to come across this post. I could have not articulated it any better. To quote from Aimee’s post,

Certainly where we shop is a matter of personal preference. But I will say that more and more I hear fellow mamas thinking they HAVE to shop at Walmart for the well-being of their family’s purse and they absolutely hate it and feel trapped to it. I just want to offer the freedom to STOP shopping there and that you can still save money shopping elsewhere and you will actually buy less random stuff that was “a good deal”.

Ah. And you know what? It just feels so liberating! Making the decision not to shop at wal-mart has also helped us to focus on the NEEDS even more. and to shop locally.

Our children’s favorite store for toys: Peapods in St Paul. (Toys R Us may still be a wonderful thing to most families with young children, but we’ve long decided that we do not have a use for it.)

Our favorite produce (and grocery) stop, second only to the Farmers Market is the Wedge Co-op in Minneapolis. (The Wedge now owns Gardens of Eagan, our favored organic farm.)

Also worth mentioning is Etsy: Nothing like shopping for delightful things made with love, and knowing that you are supporting an individual entrepreneur or artist, versus a giant corporation whose business ethics and employee relations you strongly question.

8 Responses to “more for less what?”

  1. Patty April 1, 2008 at 5:17 pm #

    I agree with you wal-mart not being a place of choice to shop but in our rural area, there is no other store. We simply have to go there for some things. No option except to travel a long distance, requiring us to spend extra money on feul and take more time.
    Our small shops have all been pushed out by the giant. I will not purchase food there though as we have another option which I happen to like much better.

  2. Tami April 1, 2008 at 5:59 pm #

    Flo,
    I agree with you completely. I read Aimee’s post also and I really spoke to me. Thank you for writing about it. Have a blessed day. Love, Tami

  3. Aimee April 1, 2008 at 8:29 pm #

    Yea Flo! 🙂 It truly is one of the most liberating decisions I have ever made in life…it’s amazing to think that a store can enslave a person!! Here’s to freedom to shop where we please! 🙂

  4. yielded April 3, 2008 at 4:06 pm #

    Just to clarify, we still go to other chain stores like Target- but hardly.

    When I recently needed a retractable clothesline, clothespins, hookpins, etc., I ran to Menards while on another errand, and was glad that I found everything I needed there.

    It’s going to be a tough one if we ever move to a town where the only place I could go to conveniently for stuff is wallyworld. yikes!

  5. melanie September 6, 2008 at 11:20 am #

    I don’t like Walmart either but I like Target. We buy most of our stuff from there including soya milk.

    Thanks for this post Flo! I checked out Peapods and I wish I have enough money right now to get rid of all the toys we have. I don’t know what my Thomas Train fan would feel about his trains.. we’ll see. But with this new baby, I’d like to go ALL natural!

    Anyway, is this where you buy cloth diapers too? I have actually been researching on which kind to use. I realized there’s too many options. I have convinced my sweet husband to use cloth diapers and wipes.

  6. yielded September 7, 2008 at 12:08 am #

    Hey, look who’s here! Hi, gorgeous mama.

    We went to peapods today, and I picked up a couple of kissaluvs to try out, but my store of choice is http://www.cottonbabies.com/

    Bum Genius is by far our favorite dipe- the only one we would use overnight. We have other stash, and use unbleached prefolds a lot at home, with different kinds of covers. (kung mayaman na ako, bum genius na lang, lol)

    Btw, if you decide to put some prefolds in the mix, I would highly recommend cottonbabies’.

    Also, I special order our wipes from a homeschooling mom at etsy (and she’s awesome)… so if you need recommendation, let me know. And for wet bags, love, love wallypop’s!

    I could go on and on with this diaper business. Sana makapag-usap uli tayo.

  7. melanie September 8, 2008 at 8:42 am #

    haha.. you’re so funny! gorgeous ka dyan! i look very HUGE, ugh! i told my husband last night, i feel like a whale.. lol!

    oh.. thanks for the link! i had it bookmark and yeah bum genius that is! i don’t like to put covers, i remember doing that when i was potty training ty and he hated it, i do too! so i just let it leak in the carpet… haha! i’ve already told friends, churchmates, etc.. who keep bugging me what they’re gonna get for my baby.. i told them, i am not taking shower gifts or cards. soooo.. please just give cash or checks, that way i can buy bum genius .. o di ba?!

    oy before i forgot, can you give me the link to the wipes? i check out wallypops, ahhh .. what a great site! i think i have to shift to cycle pads. i am also interested to get their breast pads, family wipes and the wet bags. thank you thank you talaga!

  8. yielded September 9, 2008 at 2:18 pm #

    Here’s Sheila’s Etsy.

    You can also order nursing pads from her. She’s the kids’ favorite etsy seller ‘coz they get to pick whatever fabric design they like from her stash. They also love the dinner napkins we special ordered from her. Mas mura pa:)

    Btw, we don’t use diaper pail here. ‘Yong large wet bags lang- space saver na, cute pa. Dirty bags just go with the dipes in the wash.

    Anong diaper cover ba ang ginamit mo kay Ty? They have some good ones out there, great for fitted dipes.

    Do you know if you’re having a boy or a girl? I’ll catch up with you on your blog soon. In the meantime, alis na muna. Kids are waiting in the van. haha

Leave a Reply

