Why the Focus on Food?

25 Jan

A fellow homeschooler ask this question on a previous post:

Can I ask you a question I am curious about? Why do you focus on food so much?

I recognize all I talked about on my previous blog is food- it was meant to be a food blog after all. Why did I, or how could I, spend so much energy and time on a food blog? It was a transition period for us from eating basically almost anything that felt good to the taste buds to a more thoughtful, intentional eating/lifestyle, and blogging about that, and my new way of cooking really helped. I would not take for granted the inspiration and the knowledge I acquired from other food blogs and the encouragement I got from my fellow bloggers.

I have since moved on, and though I write food posts on this blog, I do so in a totally different direction, and with the awareness of a broader readership.

Nowadays, when I talk about food, like in the last post, I don’t really intend to put the focus on it, but the nourishment that I am feeding my family. Preparing healthy meals is one of the most significant things I do for the family on a daily basis. Getting up early in the morning to make my husband’s lunch when my pregnant belly want to stay in bed is not a piece of cake, but it is that important to me, and that’s why I do it. I couldn’t help it if it spills over on this blog!

When I posted, let’s say, about the fudgsicles I made with the kids, it is with the unspoken message that we could feed our children satisfying yet “healthy” snacks, and with the help of those tiny hands. When I posted about a vegetable soup, I should have added that I do this soup thing a lot, but once in a while, I come across some that the kids really like, and that is a treasure for me, worth sharing. It is with the hope that I could bring some inspiration to the busy mom who still believe in feeding her children vegetables, other than steamed broccoli or carrots.

Homeschooling extends beyond the compass of the curriculum, sports and other educational activities. Health and nutrition, respect for one another, financial stewardship, our relationships with other people, social awareness, so on and so forth: they are all integral part of our family’s home education. Some homemakers love to quilt, knit, scrapbook, etc. (Don’t we see it written all over their blogs?) Providing my family with the best nourishment for their bodies has become a passion of mine. I consider this an essential part of the hidden art of homemaking. Frankly, I am burdened that in our busyness as homeschool mothers, the nutritional aspects get put on the back burner. We strive to provide the best environment for our children to help them make the right choices. How is it that training them to choose wisely what to feed their temples never gets much attention? We would consciously not give our children drugs, alcohol and cigarette… Do we give a lot of thought to what we put in those little vulnerable bodies on a daily basis?

Eliminate highly processed food, preservatives and other questionable ingredients, refined sugar and other refined food in the children’s diet, feed them superfood, and see the difference in the way they behave. Watch as their health and well-being thrive!

We are also a supporter of organic farming, and that’s why that word sometime pops up in my so called food posts. We live in a budget, but the choice between organic and conventionally-grown produce is hardly negotiable.

So yes, I may seem to “focus on food so much,” as perceived. But in this blog, it would not be about a good restaurant that we recently visited, the mouthwatering pizza, or just about any food that feels good to the taste buds at the moment. It would not be about a bag of potato chips, an edible experiment in a box or the box of nuggets that I served the kids because we were too busy doing school. Really, it is a matter of perception.

Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth. (3John 1:2)

9 Responses to “Why the Focus on Food?”

  1. tonia January 25, 2008 at 10:27 pm #

    I love reading your food posts. Food and nutrition take up a huge amount of my time and mental energy. I’m thrilled to read other families on the similar road as we are.

    Besides all that, I think you should write about whatever you want and not have to justify it at all. 🙂

    Tonia-
    Your words are very edifying. Thank you:)
    -Flo

  2. Emily January 30, 2008 at 3:31 pm #

    Good afternoon. Congratulations on your pregnancy. I have read a few posts on your blog and am looks forward to reading more. I really enjoyed the post about homeschooling (Charlotte Mason mindset). I plan to homeschool my children and want to so have the mindset. I am a homeschool graduate.

    As for food, I loved this post. I couldn’t agree with you more. I think that the importance of what goes into our bodies is completely unrated. I love healthy eating and cooking. It is such a ministry to our familes. Looking forward to more reading.

    God bless you.

  3. yielded January 31, 2008 at 5:31 pm #

    Emily-
    Glad to see you here! I enjoy visiting your blog, too. Thank you for the kind words.

  4. LaTeaDah February 1, 2008 at 2:49 am #

    Excellent post!!!! Your concern about nutrition is something that will stick with your children forever. The instruction you are giving them in their early years will help them with food choices for the rest of their lives. Earlier this week I visited my college-student son and took him shopping for groceries. It was so interesting to observe his food choices. He’s quite picky — and I smiled to myself — realizing that I was reaping the results of years of nutrition education. It was very rewarding!

    Lovely blog!

    LaTeaDah

  5. johanna3 February 2, 2008 at 7:26 pm #

    i love to read about your food, please keep those post coming to us!!!

  6. yielded February 5, 2008 at 1:53 pm #

    LaTeaDah-

    As true as that is, no one has ever said anything like that to us IRL. I feel so blessed to be a part of this blogging community.

    Your words are very uplifting. Thank you for sharing that about your son. That is very inspiring, and it put a smile on my face:)

    Johanna-

    Food posts would probably be few and far in between, but thank you for the kind words!

    Love you,
    Flo

  7. stephanie March 10, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    I found this quote some time ago and really enjoyed it. When I read your post I thought it might resonate with you also. What we eat is not just about our own health. By choosing organic food you also effect the environment. Good on you!!

    “The most political act we do on a daily basis is to eat, as our actions affect farms, landscapes and food businesses.”

    – Professor Jules Pretty, University of Essex, UK, http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/science/nature/4312591.stm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1.   Why the Focus on Food? by diet.MEDtrials.info - January 25, 2008

    […] and with the help of those tiny hands. When I posted about a vegetable …article continues at yielded brought to you by diet.medtrials.info and […]

  2. Healthy Organic Mom » Why the Focus on Food? - January 25, 2008

    […] Why the Focus on Food? « Yielded Heart […]

Leave a Reply

