How We Fuel These Days

16 Jan

I had trained myself to get up early and start my day before the children wake up in the morning, but that went tumbling down with my first trimester of pregnancy. Starting this week though, I purpose to make my dear husband lunch for work everyday, so I have been getting myself out of bed at 6:00am to make him green smoothies and pack his food. Wow, it feels good, and I could have my quiet time in the mornings again- yes, when it is still QUIET! I could not resist taking picture of hubby’s beautiful food on Monday. Here it is, breakfast, lunch and snack ready to go in his bag:rbrawbaon1.jpg

My husband usually does business after work, so I have to pack him extra food. By the way, that’s romaine, tomatoes, carrots and cucumber in the bigger glass bowl; cashews, walnuts and raisins in the smaller one.

Sunlight is essential for our bodies but we don’t get as much in this Minnesota winter. Well, at least we try! Here’s Aliyah doing Math-U-See in the sun. We were able to do that two days in a row, but this morning was cloudy and a bit gloomy. Boy, was my skin craving!

ajsunshine.jpg

Lyrica and her daily avocado. Yes, she digs that stuff! I wish I had a photo of her diving her face in the avocado yesterday.

l_avocado.jpg

Aliyah would pick the tomato over an apple or a kiwi anytime. She also has been eating a lot of greens lately. Give her raw cabbage with lemon and she’s happy. Way to go, girl!

aj_tomato.jpg

Except for some carrots and a bunch of collard greens, all these organic goodness we got from the co-op earlier this week lasted us only a couple of days!

So that’s how we are fed lately. I hope we could stay on track!

5 Responses to “How We Fuel These Days”

  1. stephanie January 20, 2008 at 10:05 pm #

    Hi I was given your blog address by a friend and I just wanted to say that it is one of the most beautiful blogs i have ever visited. We are a homeschooling family in Australia and I have been able to use so many of the links and things that you have on your site – thanks so much. I love the youtube links!! We are also vegetarian and into slow food and organics. I loved seeing your hubbies lunch photos.

    Congrats on the baby and thanks for all the work you have put into the site.

    Stephanie

  2. Dana January 22, 2008 at 2:07 am #

    When I lived in TX, there was an interesting billboard. It read:

    All trees make oxygen. Only the best ones make avacados.

  3. yielded January 22, 2008 at 10:03 am #

    Stephanie-
    Thanks for reading and your kind words!

    Btw, what is slow food?

  4. yielded January 22, 2008 at 10:05 am #

    Dana, I know of people who would totally agree with that billboard sign. (smiles)

  5. Tami January 24, 2008 at 11:30 am #

    Hi Flo!

    Thanks for stopping by our blog. Congrats on the new babe? Can I ask you a question I am curious about? Why do you focus on food so much?

    Joy to you!
    Tami

Leave a Reply

