Listening to “Carmen”

4 Jan

Bizet’s Carmen Suite No. 2 (Habanera) plays over and over in our house, until I would say “enough for the day.” It has been like that three days in a row now. Our ten-year old rediscovered an old classical music CD, and immediately took a liking on Bizet’s music.

I had already assigned a new composer for this term, but as I got into Homeschool Tracker to print out next week’s schedule, this girl approached me to ask if we could do Georges Bizet next for music study. I was really surprised as I have never mentioned this composer before, and she even knew how to pronounce his name!

Provided that we’ve always played classical music in our home, and that she has always liked it, I am quite happy that she is starting to find her very own classical listening niche.

Bizet it is.

3 Responses to “Listening to “Carmen””

  1. stephanie March 9, 2008 at 8:19 pm #

    I love your site and I have navigated quite a few of your links and posts. It is a joy to read. Our kids have enjoyed quite a few pieces of music that you talk about – thanks!!

    Can you tell me the youtube address for this piece. I love it and want to add it to my Face book.

  2. yielded March 10, 2008 at 1:43 pm #

    Stephanie, hi! Thanks for the kind words. I’m glad you found some things useful here!

    If you click on the above youtube screen (but not the play button), the site should open up for you. Better yet, here it is.

    -Flo

  3. stephanie March 10, 2008 at 10:15 pm #

    Thanks so much

Leave a Reply

