The Purging of Me

10 Oct

I stopped short reading through Hidden Art’s purge challenge. My husband and I long for a simpler lifestyle, both familiar and unfamiliar, and though we are taking steps in that direction, I have never felt a stronger leading than now. In this last year, we have had a lot of success with purging, and we are enjoying the liberty it brings. Though I am still burdened in some areas that I we have not totally conquered (the garage, for example), overall, we have been transformed. My husband and I would talk about “life in a small cottage” more and more. Not that we could do that anytime soon, but the birthed desire has been sitting in our hearts, and have been influencing us in our daily choices: what we buy, what we DON’T buy, what we keep and don’t keep, what we do and don’t do, and our plans in general. It affects even the way we celebrate, and our attitude about the holidays.

So when I read Amanda’s challenge, I thought this could be the perfect opportunity to finally conquer unfinished tasks. But then I kept feeling the prompting someplace else: in my own life. Yes, then I realized I need a lot of purging there! I don’t need to name them here, but they will unveil somehow as I update on the changes that I am committing to- some relating to family, some to my own habits and some to my attitude. I really need to free myself of those creepy little guilts! God is leading us to an unfamiliar pasture, that much I know, and not only do I need to be totally yielded, but also free of baggages that slow down the race.

smapplepieharvest.gif

This week, I am focusing on food. No, I don’t mean cleaning out the pantry and the refrigerator/freezer. Those had been tamed along with the kitchen cabinets. I am talking about way of things that have sneaked up on us because of my choices, or should I say lack of planning and focus. This week I am committing to going back on track, not just for our optimum health and well-being, but to honor a husband’s request.

I am spending less time blogging, so that I could set my mind on those things and be inspired with a plan. Yes, I need the focus!

Ah. Hearty soup simmering in the pot, freshly baked bread from the oven, autumn bounties to be enjoyed… sweet aroma to my soul. Have a blessed and artful week, my friends!

8 Responses to “The Purging of Me”

  1. Tami October 10, 2007 at 8:28 pm #

    I could be the one writing this post. The urge to purge is strong. The Lord has been purging IN me also. I am so ready. I am all yours Lord! Blessings to you and your family, Tami

  2. Anna October 11, 2007 at 4:12 pm #

    How inspiring!

  3. Lynn October 12, 2007 at 11:30 pm #

    Very inspiring. I long for simplicity as well. God has been dealing with me along these very same lines. In lots of areas!

  4. Pam in Colorado October 16, 2007 at 12:38 am #

    I, too, have been working on continuing to purge and declutter. We have come a long way but have more to do. We would love to move to the Oregon coast next year. If we do, we plan on taking my husbands tools, my sewing machines and material…, a very condensed lot of books for our homeschooling and the hardest to replace small kitchen appliances. We will take the clothing we need and a few personal items each. Beyond that, we want to sell or give away the rest. It would be so refreshing to start over, stay more minimalistic.

    I have questions regarding removing meat from your diet. I would not be opposed to going to plant only, except, my body does not do well with eating grain based foods, unless I eat them sparingly. I also have trouble with eating beans, such as pinto, black, red… they all cause much gastrointestinal troubles. I walk around feeling like someone pumped me full of air. All milk/icecream makes me sick unless it is raw milk based. Cheeses usually don’t cause any stomach problems. I’ve been experimenting for a couple of years now and can’t find any rhyme of reason. Can’t lose weight unless I go so low calorie that it is not healthy, then I put the weight right back on.

    It is frustrating. If I go to fruits and veges I feel great for about a week, then I start feeling sick. If I eat chicken or beef, I immediately begin to feel better, stronger… I can’t figure this out. Any insights, suggestions??? I’d love to hear what you have to say about this.

    My husband and I are now walking 2-3 times a week, 3-5 miles, depending on our schedules. That makes me feel good. We plan on doing this throughout the winter and beyond. I’m so glad. If I could just get the food stuff figured out. I will be going to our Naturopath and having my blood work done in the near future to see what is going on in my body. I’ll be 43 this week, so it would be a good time to get things in order before I get any older and in worse shape.

  5. yielded October 16, 2007 at 12:39 pm #

    Pam,

    Simple living and the Oregon coast sounds very appealing! Hope the plan works out for you and your family!

    Thank you so much for valuing my insight. I brought your question over at diseaseproof.com, (EDITED:) (hoping someone from the blog would reply,) and what I got here is a response from a reader of their blog named Michael:

    It does take time to adjust to a more natural, plant-based diet. For the beans, use smaller amounts to start, blending beans into a dip such as hummus also helps, and green peas are easiest to digest.

    Grains are not necessary, you can substitute starchy vegetables instead.

    The sickness is likely detox. This is normal as your body eliminates waste from your tissues. You should feel better after 2-3 days. As far as weight loss, are you also exercising? Aerobic, weight training and stretching exercises are all important for good health and will help you lose weight.

    Does that help?

    I highly, highly recommend reading Dr. Fuhrman’s book: “Eat to Live.” Hopefully, they have it in your library system. (Another good one from the same author is “Disease-Proof Your Child.”)

    One section of the book that really stands out right now as I think about your comment is the one titled: Headaches, Hypoglycemia, and Hunger from page 164 and on. I am really hoping that you could get a hold of the book!

    It’s great to hear that you and your hubby are walking. 3-5 miles, a few times a week sounds awesome! Update us, will ya?

    To your health!

  6. Gerald Pugliese October 16, 2007 at 2:18 pm #

    Hello all-

    This is Gerald Pugliese from Dr. Fuhrman’s DiseaseProof blog. In reference to the comment above this one. Take note that the “expert” quoted here is simply a regular reader of DiseaseProof and not necessarily an expert. The only expert information given out on DiseaseProof comes from Dr. Fuhrman.

    Not to be a kill-joy or anything!

    🙂

    Gerald, I have edited my comment above to reflect that. Thank you for pointing it out. I have never explored the comment sections of diseaseproof, and I feel embarrassed that I readily assumed he is from the blog, responding to my inquiry:(
    -Flo

  7. hiddenart October 18, 2007 at 8:45 pm #

    Purging is a good thing. As well as purging the house, I am also purging the criticism from my mouth/mind. The criticism just seems to be much harder to get rid of than the stuff.

    Thanks for the reminder that what we allow in our bodies is so important! You also made me very hungry for a delicious broth and homeade bread.
    amanda

  8. Pam in Colorado October 19, 2007 at 10:33 am #

    Thanks for the time you took to see what others might suggest for me. I will look into those books. I might even have the Eat to Live book, it sounds familiar.

    I’ll have to look into the “starchy vege” part of this, since I just don’t want to mess around with grains. I do eat some, but just not often.

    Thanks also for the lovely birthday message. You are sweet!

Leave a Reply

