Picture Stories

13 Sep

My daughter thought that she was not fit to do school today, so I sent her back to bed. You think I’d go and finish the laundry, but here I am while watching the little ones play. I am somewhat relieved that I didn’t have to be mom-teacher today. What’s wrong with this mama? It is just September and I am thankful for a break, the second time this week, already. The nice part is that I am enjoying the younger ones a little bit more today.

It has stopped raining, but it is still gloomy outside. We planned to follow tasks and do a nature walk- I am just celebrating the joy that our children are instead.

This is the card that our oldest made for our anniversary.

aj911card.jpg

Isn’t she sweet?

She wasn’t proud about it, but Zurielle came up to me and said, “look, mama:(” She and her little sister found a stray marker and decided to indulge themselves. I put them in the tub, then I noticed this:

zleg1.jpg

Quite the artist isn’t she?

Earlier that day, while washing the dishes, I had this strange thought that I shouldn’t leave the kitchen window wide open. I quickly laughed it off, thinking that little girls would never want to climb unto the counter and over the sink to go there (the area between the sink and the window). A few hours later, a two-year old did.

kwindow.jpg

I’m glad she was after the plant.

As I put her(Lyrica) in the tub this morning, she said, “I don’t like soap.” I was stunned at first, but then I remembered reading that line from a Mercer Mayer book, “I Just Forgot.” Yesterday, after finding out what mischievous deed the little ones were up to, I told them that I was mad, really MAD. Later on, Daddy was reading another one of Mercer Mayer’s books- “I Was So Mad” and Lyrica kept interrupting, “Mama is mad too, you know!”

Oh, let’s just enjoy them today!

5 Responses to “Picture Stories”

  1. aRBee September 13, 2007 at 3:16 pm #

    Yes, let’s enjoy them as much as we can. They won’t be little for too long.

  2. Lynn September 14, 2007 at 8:10 am #

    That is so cute. I know what you mean though, somedays I don’t want to ‘do school’ because I just want to sit on the front porch and watch them. All of them. My boys, because time is flying by so fast and I know its just around the corner when they’ll be leaving my little nest. And my baby girl, because I know this toddler stage is over and done with so quickly…… just like the baby stage. All these moments, ever so fleeting. —–huge sigh—–

  3. hiddenart September 14, 2007 at 2:58 pm #

    I love Mercer Mayer books, and a glimpse into your days. I’m smiling now.
    amanda

  4. rowdyrodi September 15, 2007 at 8:25 pm #

    Ahhh the world of 2 year olds….. if we spend these days in any other way besides enjoyment we may not survive.

    H

  5. Trina September 17, 2007 at 7:04 pm #

    Ahahahahaha!

Leave a Reply

