Mom’s Great Idea (Night Sky Watch)

8 Sep

We just got home, and as my husband looked up in the sky, he immediately called everyone to share his discovery. It was a clear night and all the stars were out. I had a crazy idea: “let’s all go out in the deck and watch!” The children must be tired, and who would want to sit outside on a chilly night anyway? To my surprise, the answer was a resounding and almost in chorus, “yes!”

We got in our pajamas and bundled up. Daddy and the girls spread blankets and brought some pillows out, while inside I brewed the tea. As the neighborhood retired, we were out there in the dusk, admiring the night sky. Oh, it was wonderful, looking for familiar constellations, while savoring our favorite tea. Aliyah was thankful and even dubbed this event “Mom’s Great Idea.” Marvelous concept for a tagline, I thought.

It was chilly as we marveled at the stars, and the fun did not last very long for the smallest ones. Running around in the dark must not be their image of play. I couldn’t help but reminisce when as children we would sit under the moonlight and relished the night sky while we sang and talked. Stories about the war from my father, who was just a young lad when the Philippines was under the Japanese occupation, are still vivid in my mind. We ran around and played games- the moon and the stars were our witness. The flashback made me realize that we were actually building memories right there- outside the house, under the sky. I heard my husband say unforgettable.

I took the girls in as the daddy and his ten-year old lingered a little bit more.

We have to do this again. It is the simple things that warm the hearts, isn’t it?

6 Responses to “Mom’s Great Idea (Night Sky Watch)”

  1. hiddenart September 8, 2007 at 6:56 pm #

    These are the events I remember most from my childhood as well. Unforgettable.

    Your tea sounds delicious. I’ve never heard of this brand. What’s your favorite?
    amanda

    Teavana is the name of the store and they sell only loose leaf teas. You get them by bulk, and you can get as little as 2 ounces. It would be hard to pick one, but I prefer rooibos kinds. I mixed Azteca Fire (choco bits, strawberries, etc.) herbal tea with Rooibos Tropica last night. Once I’ve tried loose leaf, I could never got back to the bagged kind.

    I wonder if there is a Teavana in your area…

  2. Lynn September 8, 2007 at 9:59 pm #

    What a great way to make a memory. And thanks for sharing those tea links. We’re major tea drinkers around here…….and coffee too!

  3. Carrie September 9, 2007 at 9:51 pm #

    Yes, memories. I love it. Simple, yes. Unforgettable, yes. That is the stuff of how families THRIVE. Thank you for sharing Flo..

  4. Amber September 10, 2007 at 5:00 am #

    How inspiring…I love it. Thank you for leaving it here to bless the rest of us too. As a tea snob, I loved to see your tee links:-)

    Peace to you and yours! Enjoy the Minnesota chill. It is still summer hot here and we are looking for some relief. Send some chill our way would ya:-)

  5. brandy September 10, 2007 at 8:06 pm #

    thank you so much for visiting, you have no idea how encouraging it was. i’ve been contemplating ending my blogging “career” for various reasons; but, comments like yours remind me why i love to write so much.

    i , too, enjoyed perusing your posts, seeing your beautiful children, and remembering why it is i love homeschooling…and find such great pleasure in the simple things. i’ll be back, as well. 🙂

  6. Dana September 11, 2007 at 9:21 am #

    I’m glad you did that. And it is often the simple, unplanned events that we think back on and remember.

Leave a Reply

