Back to Homeschool Week: If I Had Only Known

9 Aug

It is Day 4 of Back to Homeschool Week, hosted by Randi over at I Have to Say. I have never blogged this much and I am taking advantage of it because next week is Back to Homeschool over here. I didn’t plan to be in the system’s timeline, but it has work for us this time having the summer off. Mom is refreshed and ready to take on the year ahead. Posting will be light but I am also looking forward to chronicling our day to day discoveries.

Today’s topic is “If I Had Only Known.” The first thing that came to mind is Charlotte Mason. If I just did my homework on the different styles of homeschooling before jumping in, we would have not started with the textbook approach. I am thankful that it was only for a short season.

Had I only known that certain resources would not work for us, I would have not spend the $$ on it. The idea is to always pray before making the purchase. I have learned to be more sensitive now when I get a check in my spirit about certain materials, no matter how good they look.

I would not spend that much money on resources in the early years. Reading-aloud is one of the best things we could offer our young children, and it doesn’t have to be expensive. The library is a wealth of resources. There are books about books, lots of help online, and many things to tinker and discover all on our own.

Had I known that my oldest would still be challenged by some simple math facts long after she has shown a handle at them in her assigned work, I would have just put the workbook aside, more than I had done, until I am assured that she has mastered her facts. I have climbed mountains over this one, because I had always excelled in Math and I must have put unrealistic expectations on this unsuspecting victim.

As I look back, my biggest “if I had only known” is paying for all those materials that prove unfruitful to us, or that would just sit on the shelves. And I’m only making a fuzz over it because it has to do with stewardship. Our children are still young and we are still in the early part of our journey. I’m still learning with them.

7 Responses to “Back to Homeschool Week: If I Had Only Known”

  1. Randi August 9, 2007 at 9:13 am #

    I think that all homeschoolers have at least a shelf of stuff they didn’t like! Maybe it is just a required part of being a homeschooler that no one told us about!?! 😉

  2. Heidi August 9, 2007 at 10:16 am #

    Yes, I have a feeling that we will have many things sitting on our shelves unused after a few years. Already I see so many things that I would like to get to and just don’t have time.

    If nothing else, my sister and I share many materials so maybe she will be able to make use of them. Or I can steer her away from things that aren’t worth while. (Trying to put a positive spin on this…)

  3. Rhonda in TN August 9, 2007 at 11:22 am #

    My second dd (8 yrs. on Sunday) is struggling with her math facts right now. She can figure them out, but she doesn’t have them down quick enough. She wants to move on, but I wasn’t so sure. Thanks for you advice of slowing down. We will take the time now to do lots of review before it really catches up with her.

    Thanks for your insight.

    Rhonda in TN

  4. Jennifer August 9, 2007 at 12:50 pm #

    We love the library! In the early years it was pretty much the source of all of our curriculum materials. I would walk up and down the rows and just grab books that looked really interesting. Some of them were a hit, and some of them went completely unread until the time they were due back.

  5. yielded August 9, 2007 at 1:06 pm #

    Randi, I think you’re right! lol

    Heidi, that’s good that you and your sis have each other. That is really a blessing. Before me, homeschooling was unheard of in my family.

    I recently came across another homeschool blogger from another country, and right away, I know that I have many things in my possession that would be a blessing to her family. I’m just praying for the finance to be able to send the stuff over there. Would you pray with me?

    Rhonda, just this morning we had a very, very challenging time with Math. It was really a test of patience for me. (I wish someone could make me understand that simple isn’t always simple, and that what I perceive as common sense might be a struggle to someone else! ) So we are putting the workbook down again and going back to the basic.

  6. yielded August 9, 2007 at 1:25 pm #

    Jennifer, we used to go to the library a lot before we moved here. I still miss the library system of the county we moved from. Our new one is not bad, but the branch nearest us doesn’t have a rich selection, so I just request most materials online and have dh pick them up.

  7. Donna Powers August 10, 2007 at 11:51 pm #

    I know what you mean. Shawn and I home schooled the past five years and I jumped right into the textbook approach also. In fact, we jumped right into a DVD curriculum that proved to be incredibly boring for the kids and they repeated stuff so much that it was almost painful to have to do school each day. Having fun while we learn is such a key part of raising intelligent kids. They learn sooooo much when they are enjoying the experience. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

