Back to Homeschool Week: What Led You to Homeschool?

6 Aug

b2hsweek.jpg

This week is Back To Homeschool Week at I Have to Say. Come and share your thoughts, convictions and ideas about homeschooling with other families. There is a different topic for each day, and the question for today is:

What led to your decision to homeschool?

I started being a teacher to my oldest child when she was still in my womb. I read the Bible and other books to her and we listened to classical music together. I taught her to pray.

As I pondered more on homeschooling, the more it became attractive to me, to a point where I couldn’t even imagine going a different route. I knew God put that desire in my heart. My husband ran with the vision. And with that, it was easier to embrace that God’s calling for us to train our children up the way they should go encompasses their education. Armed with that revelation and the love of our children, there was no turning back. Homeschooling was our only option. It still is.

3 Responses to “Back to Homeschool Week: What Led You to Homeschool?”

  1. Dana August 7, 2007 at 1:09 am #

    I wish I had that sort of vision when we started. I was the reluctant one, but I came around, I guess. : ) Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

  2. pinaywife August 15, 2007 at 10:09 pm #

    when i was pregnant with j, the only music he hears was classical music from dzfe (classical music station in the philippines) which eventually i had the chance to work with them later on. well, not exactly with dzfe but with far east broadcasting company who owns both dzas & dzfe among other christian radio stations in the philippines.

    i think classical music had really worked wonders in my boys!

  3. Esther September 2, 2007 at 10:18 am #

    I’ts something similar what happened to me , I but I wasn’t brave enough to follow that dream… until now. Homeschooling in Spain is not as popular as in U.S or Great Britain and I knew so little about it then (when Ellias, my first son was a baby), that I just forgot the idea. Last year God inspired me again to start this adventure. In a week or so three people (not connected in any way)talked about this to me and I started to think about it again. I prayed and seeked for God guidance and help and here I am …about to begin a defiant adventure. Thank God he put the idea again in my maind. Thanks for yous experiences. They are really helpful.

Leave a Reply

