Free Indeed

26 Jul

A recent shortcoming has got me convinced that God is not very pleased with me. It has marred my coming and going in His throne room. I felt stuck.

On one hand, He has been showing His love and faithfulness to me in diverse ways, and all the signs should have been sufficient for me to be assured that He is not as concerned with my faults as I am.

There are times, mostly when I least expect it, when I just get wrapped up in the Father’s love and I feel so overwhelmed by it. Today is no different. His presence was so tangible that it just washed away all my insecurities and self-judgment. I could hear Him ask me, in a very gentle way that no one else could, why I look so much at my own imperfections and faults when they don’t measure at all to what I could do for His kingdom. How much impact does my decision have on eternity? Is it hurting the lost? Those questions to me spell h-o-p-e.

Who doesn’t want to be the apple of the Father’s eye? I want to live a life pleasing to Him and to consistently walk the path He has designed for me. But even that isn’t really about me. The righteous life I desire isn’t really mine. How could I forget that?

Today is a new day, a day of refreshing. I am the righteousness of God in Christ Jesus. It is not my own righteousness that set me free and I’m going to stop acting and feeling like it is so.

2 Responses to “Free Indeed”

  1. (((((HUGS))))) sandi July 31, 2007 at 9:41 am #

    AW! You are sooo precious! I found you through Melanie’s blog. I LOVE the first post up there~I don’t believe God needs any gimmicks either. His Word is covicting all on its own! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. yielded July 31, 2007 at 12:00 pm #

    Sandi, thanks, and amen!

    You are no stranger to me. You’re actually on my bloglines. I just realized it when I clicked to see your blog. Silly me.

Leave a Reply

