Fruits of Nature Study

24 Jul

We don’t do nature studies as often as I would like, though in my mind it has far more value than a science curriculum in the elementary years, and honestly, I would still be confident if we don’t do anything else for science but that in the early years.

We’ve reaped so much gleaning from Ms. Charlotte Mason’s philosophy of education, and today is no exception of the joys of seeing the fruits of what I’m talking about.

FROM ALIYAH’S NATURE JOURNAL:

It is mid-summer. With the blue skies, cool breeze and warm weather, it is a beautiful day. A male robin, perched on one of our deck posts, was gayfully singing its song.

There are not many cars around here right now so it is very quiet. Another robin, who I can tell apart from the others because of a dark patch on its chest, comes here everyday, and sometimes pulls out a worm.

A rabbit, who we call “Megan,” occasionally comes to nibble on some grass. One time, we got a close-up view of her from the playroom window, but I think we scared her. She’ll be back soon.

Aliyah is ten and I have not done any writing program with her, though that is in the works for the fall. We have never used any spelling program, but she is a strong speller, and a reader. I attribute that mostly to all the excellent books and audio materials that she’s been exposed to. My daughter is not an exceptional student, and she has her challenges, (and so does mom) but this is just to show that there is so much to reap in a CM education, much to remind me of why we home-educate.

4 Responses to “Fruits of Nature Study”

  1. hiddenart July 24, 2007 at 1:29 pm #

    Does she sketch in her nature journal as well? Her writing is quite expressive.

    I love observing all the everyday natural occurances in our urban yard. I am always amazed at the amount of wildlife we see even here in the middle of the city.
    amanda

  2. yielded July 24, 2007 at 9:50 pm #

    Thanks, Amanda!

    And yes, dd sketches in her nature journal. I used to require that of her, and she was usually reluctant because she didn’t like her drawings. Now it just comes automatically with each writing.

    We have enough to keep our curious eyes and ears busy here too, though I know the kids still miss the little woods we had in our previous home and the many “visitors” we’ve had. (I don’t think we’ll ever see deer in our new backyard!)

  3. pinaywife July 31, 2007 at 10:47 pm #

    Ang galing naman!!!

    My struggle with my son is to have him write his thoughts. For some reason, he can talk your ear off but when I told him to put it in writing, he said.. I can’t think of anything Mommy! I opened him a blog at Homeschool Blogger, so he can practice his writing.

    We have not done much of the Nature Journal stuff. The moving and all had me overwhelmed to get our home in order first before I can concentrate on taking them out.

    Did you get my response to your comment in my blog?

  4. yielded August 1, 2007 at 11:28 am #

    I get notified when you respond to my comments. It was going to my spam folder, but I think I got that taken care of. Thanks:)

    Have you ever tried writing what JJ is saying and have him copy it? Or ask him a question, just to get his thoughts flowing.

    We also moved a few months ago, so I could relate! We don’t explore as much as we used to because of the little ones, but I usually just have Aliyah go outside. There is so much to record even in the backyard or in the garden. Just the little things.

Leave a Reply

