Dotless Wemmick

22 Jul

wemmick1.jpg

I found an old board book of Max Lucado’s You Are Specialwhile cleaning and sorting out in the garage the other day. Yes, we still have boxes of books unpacked from our move a few months ago. This part truly warmed my heart. I hope it is permissible to share here.

“Punchinello?” The voice was deep and strong. “How good to see you. Come- let me have a look at you.”

Punchinello looked up. “You know my name?”

“Of course. I made you.” Eli picked him up and set him on the bench. “Looks like you’ve been given some bad marks,” said the maker.

“I didn’t mean to, Eli. I really tried hard.”

“Punchinello, I don’t care what the other Wemmicks think.”

“You don’t?”

“No. You shouldn’t either. What they think doesn’t matter. All that matters is what I think. And I think you are pretty special.”

If you are a mother like me, you must already know that even a four-year-old is not exempt from “dot sticker throwing.” How wonderful for them to know about the love of Christ, and to be reaffirmed that they are truly special.

I have been given quite a number of ugly dots, too- okay, maybe some are stars- but I am proud to say that they had all fallen off. I am confident I am a “Lucia” because if the other “Wemmicks” even try to put dots on me (and yes they try), those hideous dots would have to yield, for I know who I am in “Eli” and I know exactly where to find Him…

I will praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows very well. Psalm 139:14

Flo now blogs at Joy in the Ordinary

6 Responses to “Dotless Wemmick”

  1. melanie west July 22, 2007 at 11:59 pm #

    This is just a BEAUTIFUL post! I need to get me one of that book! I’m going to read this to my son tomorrow, thanks for the link. I’d like to share this in my blog too, I hope you don’t mind.

    Have a blessed week!

    Oy.. syanga pala, how did your beloved find me? Alam mo konti lang tayong Pinay na nag homeschool so I am so thrilled that some people type Filipina Homeschooler, my blog would come up.

  2. yielded July 23, 2007 at 10:57 am #

    Melanie, I’m glad the story blessed you, too.

    Hubby found your site searching for a Top 10 joke. I shared more on your blog.

  3. jennhogie April 12, 2009 at 6:59 pm #

    Hello, just wanted to thank you for having this site. I am going to be doing a study at my church and God told to to call it, Yielded Hearts. Through the studying time I keep coming across your site.

    I also have these books, while reading it I felt that some how God wanted me to use the same section to speak to the women:)

    So thank you for being a vessel that God used to confirm so many leading’s HE is giving me.

    Be encouraged, God bless!
    Jenn

  4. rebecca quattromani May 26, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    that is so good i love it…

  5. rebecca quattromani May 26, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    good job max..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. you are special « mellaiii's blog - May 29, 2011

    […] to me. But in God’s eyes, I am just as special too! I sometimes forget that part. Thank you Flo for this beautiful post today. Read The story of the Wemmicks, you will be inspired! I am going to […]

Leave a Reply

