Potty Training Update

6 Jul

We interrupt this blog for a potty training update:)

I introduced the idea to our youngest a couple of months ago, but the effort was in vain and she just would not cooperate, so I resigned to the gentle method of “waiting-until-she’s-ready.” That is, until I read Dell of Prairie Frog Blog’s recent posts on potty training little Keegan. Did that inspired me. That was all I needed to get going again. I did not wait another day, though I jumped in with some skepticism. Do I really want to do it on a busy week?

Day 1 she had two “oops.” She was screaming at first because she really wanted to wear a diaper. Daddy was trying to figure out what mommy was up to.

Day 2: One miss- actually 1-1/2 to be exact. (LOL) Everyone was on board and the older girls would both say “time to go potty!” whenever the timer went off. Daddy was also an active participant and was really a big help. (Thanks, sweetie!)

Day 3: Accident-free. Daddy and I were so proud of our little squiggler. At one point here, she just went in the bathroom on her own, while I was on “ignore mode,” for I had a timer strapped on me, and I knew she just went ten minutes ago. I was pretty sure she just wanted to play in there. Well, what do you know? She did her thing, and afterwards yelled, “Done going pooh-pooh!” I ran to the bathroom and yes, this girl meant business. That was not the end of it. A minute later I heard her coming again. Same story. Have you seen a mom do the “happy dance” in the bathroom? That was me.

So forgive me for sharing on what seems to be an unpopular blogging subject.

I’ll spare you the rest of the exciting details, but if you’re a mom of a two year old, you know this is worth shouting about. All together now: “Well done, Lyrica!”

4 Responses to “Potty Training Update”

  1. hiddenart July 6, 2007 at 1:40 pm #

    Congratulations! This is a time of celebration.
    amanda

  2. Amber July 15, 2007 at 8:18 pm #

    ok – I am jealous. I tried that with my 2.5 year old boy a few months ago. He would do it for the first few rings and then run every other time he heard the buzzer.
    Stinker.

  3. melanie west July 20, 2007 at 10:38 pm #

    I just added you to my Bloglines! Thank you SO much for the sweeeeeeeeeeeet message you left in my blog! What JOY! Too many things to say… I’ve just begin reading about your beautiful family. It reminds me a lot of my own back home. We were 3 girls and I’m the eldest. Anyway, this post about potty train has really got me excited. If I start tomorrow, the next day is Sunday, I am worried, should I leave him without diapers on Sunday? What about in the evening? Wow, I really felt like a new mom with my 2yo. With my eldest, I had him in bare bottom like Prairie Frog did but then our floor in the Philippines were linoleum and not carpeted like what we have here. I’m so excited really, I have been trying to potty train him but I gave up because I thought oh well maybe he is not ready yet. Thank you so much for the inspiration!

  4. yielded July 21, 2007 at 1:43 pm #

    Melanie, in my experience, it is very rare to find like-minded Flip… so I am thrilled!

    I haven’t been brave enough to leave Lyrica without a pull-up diaper at church or when we are out. I just keep thinking we’d be at a mall or someplace like that, then she’d have to go, and there’d be no CR… er… bathroom nearby! She also wears a diaper at night.

Leave a Reply

