Our Favorite Smoothie

30 May

Our family thrives on it, and my husband loves coming home to the aroma of home-baked breads, but I haven’t been making them since I usually end up eating more than everybody else, and well, you know… that’s not a good thing. Since I’ll be away for a few days, I decided to bake them a couple of loaves of their favorite Maple Oatmeal Bread.

bread.jpg

That should keep them fed until I get back. (And maybe a couple of trips to Chipotle.)

I also had to write down how to make their favorite smoothie so that they could still enjoy them while I’m gone. Here goes

Mom’s Best Smoothie:

1 cup frozen blueberries

3 frozen bananas, cut

1- 1 1/2 cups orange juice

1/2 cup soymilk

ground flaxseeds, or flax oil

I don’t really measure everything but for the sake of instruction, here it is. I have a Vitamix, but if a high quality blender is not available, just leave everything in the blender and wait a few minutes before blending so that it’s not so hard on the motor.

Add soy ice cream, or a tablespoon or two of coconut milk for a richer smoothie. Enjoy!

Sunday: While at Salt Lake City, I received a text message from dh saying that he just made smoothie, and that it was very good! (Now I’m just glad to be home… and it looks like they are, too.)

3 Responses to “Our Favorite Smoothie”

  1. pinaywife August 15, 2007 at 10:04 pm #

    i just started baking about couple weeks ago.. actually. i was too scared to do the baking thingy besides the cookies and biscuits.. so my first try was banana nut bread because the whole family just love those! it came out alright i guess, since there isn’t anything left even crumbs..haha

    but.. i have not done anything with a blender before. we do love smoothies, we always get that when we go to the mall. i need to get me one of these vitamix, but boy.. why are they so expensive?!

  2. yielded August 17, 2007 at 12:46 pm #

    Melanie,
    So when are you making that banana nut bread again?

    I got my Vitamix at amazon so it was a better deal. On top of that was a discount on household appliances. I believe I paid a little over $200. Not bad compared to the now $400 tag.

    It was still very expensive, but we really put it to work. I probably had made over a hundred smoothies in a year with it! (Good enough breakfast for me.)

    I’ve already broken a couple of regular blenders in the past, and that coarse texture bothered me! The Vitamix is a commercial grade machine, so your smoothies turn out just like at Jamba Juice. (The kids always say mama’s is better!) A good way to sneak in fruits and “other stuff” like flaxseeds.

    It is such an indispensable tool for me, you wouldn’t see mine on ebay! lol

  3. pinaywife August 17, 2007 at 6:24 pm #

    I’ll probably do one next week. Where we get our groceries, I could ask for over ripe bananas (no longer in their counters) for really cheap. I could sometimes bake 3 loaves out of 99 cents bananas, not bad ha! I started liking to bake these bread after loving the smell.. yum, yum! Cooking is not my best asset as a wife..lol If my mom’s still alive, she would tell my husband to go ahead and keep me even if I can’t cook, cause I can make up with it.. lol

    I need to check out Amazon then. I am struggling with my weight after I have Ty, so I’m really trying to watch my diet. I know a good smoothies for breakfast can fill me up.

Leave a Reply

